DUI and DWI are simply shorthand terms which refer to certain laws against dangerous driving. In Virginia, both are covered under the same Code section.
A DUI conviction will most certainly have an effect on your green card application. The extent of that effect, however, will depend on several factors.
Every year on July 1st, all of the new laws from the previous General Assembly session go into effect. This year, these laws largely focused on traffic crimes.
If an officer pulls you over for DUI in Virginia, they’ll probably ask you to take a breathalyzer test. However, many people misunderstand what this means.
In order to qualify for restricted driving privileges in Virginia, you must install an ignition interlock device on your vehicles.
Yes. Generally, you’ll lose your Virginia concealed handgun permit for either three or five years after a DUI conviction.
In general, you should expect to pay around $8,000 for a first offense DUI in Virginia. However, the costs can change based on the details of your case.
A DUI conviction in Virginia will stay on your driving record for 11 years, and will remain on your criminal record for the rest of your life.
There are 5 general ways to receive DUI charges in Virginia, all of which will result in the loss of your license, fines, and possibly even jail time.
If you’re convicted of DUI in Virginia, you’ll face several criminal penalties. One of these is the possibility of losing your driving privileges for a year or more.
The Virginia Code treats some traffic offenses committed by juveniles differently than those committed by adults. Most prominent are the penalties for DUI and texting while driving.
Fighting a DUI in Virginia from out of state can be tough. However, there are several steps you can take to make sure your case has the best chance in court.