Our attorneys will take a personal role in your case in order to make sure you receive the best possible defense. That’s the Tingen & Williams difference.
Knowingly giving false reports to law enforcement officials is a Class 1 misdemeanor in Virginia, punishable with both heavy fines and jail time.
In Virginia, even minor actions can count as resisting arrest. Further, resisting arrest is a serious crime, punishable by both fines and jail time.
In Virginia, the possession of marijuana paraphernalia is a Class 1 misdemeanor. Further, it gives the police probable cause to search your property.
There are several legal strategies available to victims of stalking in Virginia. The most common, however, is to file for an emergency protective order.
There are several strategies for fighting vandalism charges in Virginia. Generally, you should start by paying for the damaged property.
“Stop and identify statutes” require that individuals who are stopped by police identify themselves. Virginia does not have a stop and identify statute.
In Virginia, petty theft is defined as (1) the theft of any item worth less than $500, or (2) the theft of any item worth less than $5 from another’s person.
If someone damages, destroys, or defaces your property, you need to report the event to your local police station. Only then can you start fixing the problem.
In Virginia, an officer can charge you with possession even if you don’t have drugs on your person. The presence of other forms of evidence can also lead to possession charges.
Distinguishing between larceny, robbery, and burglary can sometimes be hard. In this guide, we cover the differences between all three in Virginia.
In most cases, yes. Breaking and entering is a felony in Virginia. However, in certain scenarios your attorney can negotiate the charges down to a misdemeanor.