Trademark Class 14: Jewelry

This article covers general trademark information as well as trademark class 14. Trademark class 14 protect jewelry, precious metals and stones, and horological instruments.

This article will cover class 14 trademark protections. Class 14 protects jewelry and other associated items.

Registering a trademark with the United States Patent and Trademark Office (USPTO) requires you to fill out an application. While you are completing this process, you will need to figure out which class or classes protect your product or service. There are 34 classes related to goods or products and 11 classes for services.

What Is a Trademark?

Starting a business takes a lot of hard work. To make sure that people recognize your product after you take the time and effort to develop your goods or services, consider filing for a trademark.

A trademark is an image, logo, design, slogan, etc. that establishes you as the origin for your good or service and sets you apart from your competitors. Basically, your trademark is a tool to create your brand and to become recognizable to your customers.

Registered Trademark

A registered trademark uses the ® symbol. If you want to register a mark, file an application with the USPTO.

There are a lot of benefits to registering your trademark. By filing an application with the USPTO, you are expanding protections for your brand. By registering, you will gain protections outside of your original location and in e-commerce. You can also bring legal action against parties that have infringed on your trademark rights.

International Trademark Classes

International trademark classes are a part of a system to categorize goods and services. The World Intellectual Property Organization (WIPO) created these 45 classifications for the purpose of registering trademarks.

It might seem overwhelming to figure out which international trademark class fits your good or service. Sometimes your business might need to register under more than one class to be fully protected. Even though this process is complicated, international trademark classes help prevent infringement.

When you register your mark, you gain protections from infringement in the same class.

This means that your product can have a similar mark to another business so long as you work in different industries.

Registering a Class 14 Trademark

You can register for a class 14 trademark online. There are a few different kinds of trademark applications and the process can be difficult, so don’t hesitate to contact an attorney if you have questions or need help filing.

What Is a Class 14 Trademark?

Class 14 protects a few different types of goods. The main goods in trademark class 14 are precious metals and their alloys, jewelry, precious and semi-precious stones, and horological and chronometric instruments.  There is a complete list of items included in class 14 online on the WIPO’s Nice Classification.

Precious Metals and Alloys

Precious metals and alloys are often used to make jewelry. These precious metals and their alloys are the main goods in class 14. Some examples include: gold, gold thread, iridium, ingots of precious metals, osmium, palladium, platinum, rhodium, ruthenium, silver, silver thread, and various metal alloys.


In addition to the metals used to make jewelry, jewelry itself is included in class 14. Some examples include: cuff links; tie accessories; key rings or chains; jewelry charms, boxes, findings, and rolls; bracelets, amulets, badges, beads, earrings, medals, necklaces, rings, and pins.

The trademark Class 14 category includes other types of jewelry as well, but these are some of the main categories.

Precious and Semi-Precious Stones

Just like metals and their alloys, precious stones are also in trademark class 14. Some examples include: diamonds, pearls, amber, and other various precious and semi-precious stones.

Horological and Chronometric Instruments

Different instruments for measuring time also fall under class 14. Some examples include: components of watches and clocks (hands, springs, etc.), wristwatches, alarm clocks, stopwatches, sundials, clocks, chronometric instruments, and atomic clocks.

Other Goods

Some other items in trademark class 14 include ivory, figurines, prayer beads, crucifixes made of precious metals, and coins and other metal tokens.

Related Classes

Class 2 and class 6 are two examples of classes related to class 14. Class 2 includes metal in foils and powder form for use in the arts and class 6 includes common metal goods.

What Is Not in Class 14?

There are some items the WIPO specifically leaves out of class 14, including:

  • Smartwatches (Cl. 9)
  • Charms not used in jewelry or for key rings (Cl. 26)
  • Works of art not made of precious metal: works or art made of metal (Cl. 6); of stone, concrete or marble (Cl. 19); of wood, wax, plaster, or plastic (Cl. 20); of porcelain, ceramic, earthenware, terracotta or glass (Cl. 21)
  • Goods made of precious metals or coated with precious metals which are classified by their function including metals in foils and powder form for artistic purposes (Cl. 2), gold dental amalgams (Cl. 5), cutlery (Cl. 8), electric contacts (Cl. 9), gold pen nibs (Cl. 16), teapots (Cl. 21), gold and silver embroidery (Cl. 26), and cigar boxes (Cl. 34)


Trademark Class 14 is generally for components of jewelry making and time measuring instruments. If your products uses precious metals and their alloys, precious and semi-precious stones, or is a piece of jewelry or an instrument for telling time, it most likely belongs in this class. If you aren’t sure if your product qualifies for this class or one of the related classes, don’t hesitate to contact an attorney.

Need an attorney?

Our articles provide general information about all of our practice areas. If you're looking for legal counsel specific to your situation, you'll need to talk to a lawyer.

Share This